News & MEDIA

Qualifier 1 LKK VS DD

Kings Rule to Advance to Final

Lyca Kovai Kings booked their spot in the final with a commanding 30-run victory over Dindigul Dragons in Qualifier 1 of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023.

Opting to bat first, Lyca Kings got off to a quick start as opener Suresh Kumar smashed 26 runs in just 12 balls before getting out. Sachin and Mukilesh then steadied the innings, putting on a crucial partnership for the Kings. Sachin stabilized the innings with a fine knock of 70 runs from 46 balls while Mukilesh scored a valuable 44 from 27 deliveries. Atheeq ur Rahman also provided a boost at the end with a quickfire 19 from 10 balls as LKK posted a formidable total of 193 for 7.

Chasing 194 for a place in the final, Dindigul Dragons got off to a poor start, losing wickets at regular intervals. They struggled their way to 58 for 5 at the halfway mark. Sarath Kumar fought hard with 8 sixes in his 62-run innings but it wasn’t enough to get the Dragons close to the stiff target.

M Mohammed (Momi) was the standout bowler for LKK with figures of 3 for 26 in his 4 overs while Yudheeswaran grabbed 2 wickets in his 2-over spell. Gowtham Thamarai Kannan, the impact player, grabbed 2 wickets as well. Despite Sarath Kumar’s brilliant knock, Sachin’s all-round performance earned him the Man of the Match award as Lyca Kings cruised to victory by 30 runs to secure a spot in the TNPL final. Dindigul Dragons will get another shot to enter the final in Qualifier 2.